State Budget 2018 – May 1, 2018

Proud and strong: more support for LGBTI Victorians

LGBTI Taskforce

The Victoria stats government created Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans and Gender Diverse and Intersex (LGBTI) Taskforce was established in 2015 to provide advice to the Minister for Equality. The role of the Taskforce is also to identify government priorities and ensure policy, programs and services are inclusive of LGBTI communities.

Taskforce Working Groups

The LGBTI Taskforce is supported in its work by two working groups.

The Health and Human Services Working Group advises the taskforce on issues relating to ageing and aged care, alcohol and drugs, child and family services, disability services, families, health services, housing, homelessness, mental health, multicultural issues, public health and health promotion, and youth justice.

The Health and Human Services Working Group is co-chaired by Gabrielle Williams MP and Ruth McNair. In this term the community members are: Jax Jacki Brown, Craig Comrie, Keri Alexander, Karen Field, Rebecca Dominguez, Maria Pallotta-Chiarolli, Simon Ruth, Jacqui Tomlins, Asiel Adan Sanchez, Tori Berquist, Minto Felix and Jeremy Wiggins.

You can read the Health & Human Services  information here.

The Justice Working Group advises the taskforce on issues relating to civil law, criminal law, youth justice, safer communities, policing and corrections.

The Justice Working Group is co-chaired by Harriet Shing MP and Anna Brown. In this term the community members are: Liana Buchanan, Paul Kidd, Felicity Marlowe, Janet Jukes, Elizabeth Bennett, Lee Carnie, Aimee Cooper, Maree Foelz, Kochava Lilit, Mill O’Sullivan and James Roffee.

You can read the Justice Working Group February 2018 communique

For more information and current communiques please visit: